Kyoto – The Cultural Heart of Japan

This is what travelling is all about. You enter a world so ridiculously different to your own and it overtakes you, overwhelms you, until you’re left to question all that you know. You have doubts about your life, maybe constantly, but maybe just for a moment, as you remember that your life is exactly what you want, and the change of scenery only adds to it rather than takes away from it.

This is how I felt in Kyoto, as I was taking in the view at the Kinkakuji Temple. It was magnificent, and something to marvel at, yet it also left me feeling empty. I had my husband there, which was great, but there were parts of my life that I missed more in that moment than at any other point of the trip so far.

Don’t get me wrong, I thought Kyoto was beautiful, but it still lacked something. I did love the temples though, and it was intriguing to learn more about the culture in a country that has left me fascinated for so long. I think if you want to get to know Japan, Kyoto will tell you more than Tokyo. Away from the hustle and bustle of the capital, the city introduces you to a different way of life. It’s softer, calmer, more natural and somehow less touristy even with the hundreds of temples within the city confines.

I felt more relaxed there than I did in Tokyo, probably due to the calmer atmosphere. I enjoyed seeing the temples, something we lack at home. We saw the Kinkakuji, Ryoanji, Ginkakuji and Daigoji while there, and we also took a trip to the Bamboo Groves at Arashiyama. I think these were all worth seeing at least once, but I can’t say that we’re in a rush to see them again.

Maybe I was wrong about the city, but it hasn’t stolen a piece of my heart. Maybe someday it will.

One thought on “Kyoto – The Cultural Heart of Japan

Leave a comment